Henningsen, Lene

1967 - 


Back to writers

Henningsen, Lene

Written by:  Katja Pedersen

Lene Henningsen was born in Værløse, studied at the Forfatterskolen (writers' school) from 1991 to 1993, and attended a music conservatory.

She made her debut as a poet in 1991 with the collection Jeg siger dig, followed by Sabbat (P), 1992, and Solsmykket (P), 1993. In the poetry fragment En drøm mærket dag, 1994, subtitled "Telegrammer om digt/liv", she continues her attempt to combine dreams, poetry, and life in a hermetic and musical language. The same year saw the staging of her play Kongens sidste aften, and in 1995 her poetry collection De blå vidner was published.

One of her main works is Stemmer med uvejret, 1998, a more open work in terms of language, mirroring mythical material in the present day and the everyday. In 1992 Lene Henningsen was awarded the prize for debut authors by Det Danske Akademi (the Danish academy of language and literature).

Additions by the editorial team 2011:

The above biography was first published in 1998. Since then, Lene Henningsen has published the poetry collections Kalender 2000, 2001, Siden som stjerne, 2003, and Fonogrammer, 2006. She has also written Kejsertjeneren; Ingen søvn i Dubrovnik. To læsedramaer, 2000, Bølgen tegner præcist. Optegnelser, 2004, Mærket umærkeligt. Essay om digt, myte, stjerne og vin, 2008, and the tale Vandringen, 2009.

In 2010 Lene Henningsen founded Poesiens Hus in Copenhagen.

Articles about her